Frequency Series at Constellation
June 24, 2018
8:30 pm
Constellation Chicago
Google Map

Picosa returns to Constellation for its second appearance on the Frequency Series.  Our program presents a complex musical feast, highlighting the music of four local composers.  The program opens with Jonathon Kirk’s Crossing Field.  Of particular note is Crossing Field’s beautiful graphic score (music notated in symbols and images rather than notation) which audiences are welcome to see after the concert.  Ryan Carter’s On the Limits of a System and the Consequences of My Decisions features Picosa’s celebrated pianist Kuang-Hao Huang together with electronics.  Picosa will present the Chicago premiere of David DeVasto’s Chasing the Wind for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano, written for the ensemble as part of its guest residency at Elmhurst College.  The first half of the program will close with University of Chicago’s University Professor of Music Augusta Read Thomas’ Scat for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano.  Scat is a signature piece for Picosa and is an instrumental version of the popular vocal jazz idiom of the same name.

Smaller ensemble works round out the program.  Florent Ghys’ Etude for 11 Faces for violin, cello, and piano, opens the second half of the concert.  It is an innovative multimedia work that integrates storytelling into the very structure of the piece. Excerpts from Gabriela Lena Frank’s Canto de Harawi: Amadeo and Paquito D’Rivera’s The Cape Cod Files showcase our guest clarinetist Trevor O’Riordan.  Finally, the concert closes with University of Illinois-Chicago’s Marc Mellits’ driving and intricately-woven work, Spam for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano.


Jonathon Kirk | Crossing Field (flute/cello/electronics)
Ryan Carter | On the Limits of a System and the Consequences of My Decisions (piano/electronics)
Gabriela Lena Frank | Canto de Harawi: “Amadeoso” (flute/clarinet/piano)
David DeVasto | Chasing the Wind  (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)
Augusta Read Thomas | Scat (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)
Florent Ghys | Etudes on 11 Faces (violin/cello/piano/electronics)
Paquito D’Rivera | The Cape Cod Files (clarinet)
   III. Lecuonerias
Marc Mellits | Spam  (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)


Picosa Artists
Jennie Oh Brown | flute
Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin
Patti Garvey | cello
Kuang-Hao Huang | piano
Jonathon Kirk | Composer-in-Residence

Guest Artist
Trevor O’Riordan | clarinet