Picosa at Metropolis: Virtuosity
March 25, 2018
3:00 pm
Arlington Heights
Metropolis Performing Arts Centre
Google Map

Come join the musicians of Picosa at the Metropolis Performing Arts Centre, a vibrant space where folks of all ages can enjoy hearing, performing, and learning about music! We’re thrilled to bring this diverse program of audience favorites to the stage.  We open our concert with Marc Mellits’ electric and intricately-woven work, Spam for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano.  Argentine composer Alberto Ginastera’s Duo for flute and clarinet is a fun diversion in this rich program.  The first half closes with Beethoven’s charming Piano Trio in B Flat major for clarinet, cello, and piano, Opus 11.

Our second half begins with Claude Debussy’s Violin Sonata, written in the twilight years of the composers’ life.  This tribute honors Debussy’s Centenary Celebration, observing his passing in March of 1918.  Franz Joseph Haydn’s Divertissement for flute, violin, cello, is a dance-infused work written in the epitome of classical era style.  Finally, we conclude our concert with our pièce de résistance, Aaron Copland’s epic and beautiful Appalachian Spring, transcribed for Picosa by our Composer-in-Residence Jonathon Kirk.


Marc Mellits | Spam  (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)
Alberto Ginastera | Duo for Flute and Clarinet (flute/clarinet) 
   I. Sonata
   II.  Pastorale
   III. Fuga
Ludwig van Beethoven | Piano Trio in B-flat major, Op. 11 (clarinet/cello/piano)
   I. Allegro con brio
   II. Adagio
   III. Tema con variazoni (“Pria ch’io l’impegno”: Allegretto)


Claude Debussy | Violin Sonata in g minor  (violin/piano)
   I. Allegro vivo
   II. Intermede. Fantasque et leger
   III. Finale. Tres anime
Franz Joseph Haydn | Divertimento op. 100, No. 1 (flute/violin/cello)
   I. Adagio cantabile
   II. Allegro
   III. Allegro moderato
Aaron Copland trans. Kirk | Appalachian Spring (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)

Picosa Artists
Jennie Oh Brown | flute
Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin
Kuang-Hao Huang | piano
Jonathon Kirk | Composer-in-Residence

Guest Artists
Jennifer Woodrum | clarinet
Kurt Fowler | cello