Sounds of New Music at North Central College
April 17, 2018
7:30 pm
Wentz Concert Hall, North Central College
Google Map

Picosa returns to North Central College for its fourth season as Ensemble-in-Residence for the Sounds of New Music Festival.  Our program presents a complex musical feast, highlighting the music of four local composers.  The program opens with Crossing Field, which Sounds of New Music director and Picosa Composer-in-Residence Jonathon Kirk wrote for the occasion.  Of particular note is Crossing Field’s beautiful graphic score (music notated in symbols and images rather than notation) which audiences are welcome to see after the concert.  Ryan Carter’s On the Limits of a System and the Consequences of My Decisions features Picosa’s celebrated pianist Kuang-Hao Huang together with electronics.  Picosa will premiere David DeVasto’s Chasing the Wind for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano, written for the ensemble as part of its guest residency at Elmhurst College.  The first half of the program will close with University of Chicago’s University Professor of Music Augusta Read Thomas’ Scat for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano.  Scat is a signature piece for Picosa and is an instrumental version of the popular vocal jazz idiom of the same name.

Smaller ensemble works round out the program.  Florent Ghys’ Etude for 11 Faces for violin, cello, and piano, opens the second half of the concert.  It is an innovative multimedia work that integrates storytelling into the very structure of the piece. Excerpts from Gabriela Lena Frank’s Canto de Harawi: Amadeo and Paquito D’Rivera’s The Cape Cod Files showcase our guest clarinetist Trevor O’Riordan.  Finally, the concert closes with University of Illinois-Chicago’s Marc Mellits’ driving and intricately-woven work, Spam for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano.


Jonathon Kirk | Crossing Field (flute/cello/electronics)
Ryan Carter | On the Limits of a System and the Consequences of My Decisions (piano/electronics)
Gabriela Lena Frank | Canto de Harawi: “Amadeoso” (flute/clarinet/piano)
David DeVasto | Chasing the Wind  (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)
Augusta Read Thomas | Scat (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)
Florent Ghys | Etudes on 11 Faces (violin/cello/piano/electronics)
Paquito D’Rivera | The Cape Cod Files (clarinet)
   III. Lecuonerias
Marc Mellits | Spam  (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)


Picosa Artists
Jennie Oh Brown | flute
Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin
Patti Garvey | cello
Kuang-Hao Huang | piano
Jonathon Kirk | Composer-in-Residence

Guest Artist
Trevor O’Riordan | clarinet