Sounds of New Music at North Central College

February 5, 2020
7:30 pm
North Central College, Naperville
Wentz Concert Hall
Sounds of New Music at North Central College
Picosa Music

Picosa’s upcoming Sounds of New Music Festival concert begins and ends with works that are filled with cheerfulness and optimism, yet travels through works that tread into more profound territory along the way.  Now entering its 6th season as the Ensemble-in-Residence for the Sounds of New Music Festival at North Central College, Picosa’s program brings together a world premiere, a classic and masterful introduction to extended techniques, and everything in between. 

At the End of A Really Great Day, a quartet by Judd Greenstein, opens the concert with a dream-like, minimalist work that is elegant in its shifting rhythmic and motivic gestures.  Picosa pianist Kuang-Hao Huang will give the world premiere of a set of movements from Jacob Banck’s Preludes, written for Huang.  What Prevails by Kyong Mee Choi, faculty member at Roosevelt University’s Chicago College for the Performing Arts, captures tragedy and violence in its writing and dedication to those innocent people who lives are affected by crime.  North Central College faculty member and clarinetist Andrea DiOrio performs Sequenza IX by Luciano Berio.  Berio’s series of fourteen Sequenzas were revolutionary in introducing extended techniques that are increasingly common in performance today.  Finally, the program closes with Joan Tower’s Petroushskates for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano a high-energy and fun chamber work that combines the fluidity of ice skating with references to Igor Stravinsky’s rhythmic masterpiece Petrouchka.


Judd Greenstein | At the End of a Very Good Day (flute/clarinet/violin/cello)
Jacob Bancks | Set from “Preludes” (piano)
Kyong Mee Choi | what prevails (clarinet/violin/piano)
Luciano Berio | Sequenza IX (clarinet)
Joan Tower | Petroushskates (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)

Picosa Artists

Jennie Oh Brown | flute
Andrea R. DiOrio | clarinet
Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin
Paula Kosower | cello
Kuang-Hao Huang | piano
Jonathon Kirk | Composer-in-Residence

© 2020. Picosa. All Rights Reserved.