September 27, 2019
7:30 pm
Elmhurst College
Buik Recital Hall
Picosa Music


Shulamit Ran | Mirage(flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)
Nico Muhly
| Common Ground
Luciano Berio | Sequenza IX (clarinet)
George Crumb | Vox Balaenae (flute/cello/piano)
Jennifer Higdon | Smash (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)

Picosa Artists

Jennie Oh Brown | flute
Andrea R. DiOrio | clarinet
Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin
Paula Kosower | cello
Kuang-Hao Huang | piano
Jonathon Kirk | Composer-in-Residence

Picosa’s first concert of the season explores the concept of momentum musically, politically, and artistically. 

Celebrated American composer Jennifer Higdon describes her piece Smash as “…smashing forward with momentum”.  As George Crumb celebrates his 90th birthday in October of 2019, we celebrate another visionary whose programmatic Vox Balaenae smashed through musical boundaries not only in its use of extended techniques, but also in its influence of non-western music.

Shulamit Ran’s Mirage is a signature piece for Picosa which evokes modes typically associated with Middle Eastern Music.

Luciano Berio’s celebrated series of solo works for virtuosi were progressive in their use of extended techniques.

Finally, Nico Muhly’s Common Ground utilizes three different repetitive techniques from varying eras of time, two contemporary and one baroque, first a cycle of chords, the second an obsession over a single chord, and the third a ground bass reminiscent of the writing of Purcell.

Join us for this exciting and varied program!


© 2021. Picosa. All Rights Reserved.