LiveStream: The Essence of Life

March 1, 2021
7:00 pm
Free - $50 (flexible ticket!)
LiveStream: The Essence of Life
Picosa Music

Astor Piazzolla | Libertango transcription (flute/clarinet/violin/cello)
Jonathon Kirk | Crossing Field (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano/electronics)
Valerie Coleman | Freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)
Florence Price | Adoration (clarinet/piano)
Reena Esmail | Saans (violin/cello/piano)
Hector Villa-Lobos | Jet Whistle (flute/cello)
I. Allegro non troppo
II. Adagio
III. Vivo
Shawn Okpebholo | CryptOlogiE (flute/clarinet/violin/cello/piano)


When I first sat down and looked at the music for this March concert, I was inspired by concepts that I thought were essential to happiness – things like liberty and freedom, like love and family, like art and music, like the very breath of our bodies. Now, in retrospect, those ideas are even more precious to me as we emerge, I say optimistically, out of a global pandemic that has silenced many stages and placed restrictions on normal life around the world.

The thematic thread of this concert embraces the belief that sources of joy and sustenance allow us to rise above our challenges, such as the ongoing isolation of our current day. You’ll hear Shawn Okpebholo’s daughters’ initials woven in morse code through his clever piece, CryptOlogiE. Astor Piazzolla’s Libertango and Valerie Coleman’s Freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes express the beauty of freedom, a humanitarian right, while also reminding us of this dark part of American history. Crossing Field is performed from a beautiful graphic score and inspired by American sculptor Sue Fuller who created three-dimensional works out of thread. Finally, Reena Esmail’s Saans (“Respiration”) and Villa Lobos’ Jet Whistle, are works centered on the concept of air and breath, truly essential for life and at the center of every new broadcast today.

As we’ve all journeyed through these last 10 months, what have you found that has brought you joy in the midst of these challenging times?  {email us responses at}

Picosa Artists
Jennie Oh Brown | flute
Andrea R. DiOrio | clarinet
Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin
Paula Kosower | cello
Kuang-Hao Huang | piano
Jonathon Kirk | composer-in-residence

© 2021. Picosa. All Rights Reserved.