Pivotal Moments

May 8, 2024
7:00 pm
$25 General Admission (Students are free!)
Pivotal Moments
Picosa Music

The final program in Picosa’s season brings together multiple works that represent pivotal moments in classical music history. Many consider Debussy’s Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun to be the moment when the seeds of atonality took root, which would later be fulfilled in the music of Arnold Schoenberg. Likewise, Stravinsky’s innovative L’Histoire du Soldat (A Soldier’s Tale) was originally conceived as a piece to be read, performed, and danced, broadening the norms of concert performances.  Grieg’s Andante con moto for piano trio was written in 1878 when the composer was 35 years old, although published posthumously.  Finally, Arnold Schoenberg’s lush and epic Kammersymphonie represents a last moment of relatively romantic writing before breaking the boundaries of tonality with serialism and other innovations, and influencing composers for generations to come.


Claude Debussy arr. Kirk | Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun (full ensemble)
Igor Stravinsky | L’Histoire du soldat Suite (clarinet/violin/piano)
Kyle Rivera | Anaglyph: A Repository of Imaginar Languages (clarinet(Bb&A&Bass)/violin/cello/piano) **CCCC Commission
Edvard Grieg | Andante con moto for piano trio (violin/cello/piano)
Arnold Schoenberg arr. Webern | Kammersymphonie No. 1, op. 9  (full ensemble)

Picosa Artists

Jennie Oh Brown | flute
Andrea R. DiOrio | clarinet
Elizabeth Brausa Brathwaite | violin
Paula Kosower | cello

Guest Artist

Daniel Schlosberg | piano

****Cross Country Chamber Consortium Winner!  (More info on our Home Page!)

If you need ticketing assistance, please contact the Holtschneider Performance Center Box Office by email: musicboxoffice@depaul.edu or by phone at 773.325.5200. The Box Office is open Tuesday – Saturday, 10AM – 3PM.

© 2021. Picosa. All Rights Reserved.